Home » Recipe » Baking » Recipe: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Recipe: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread


A few weeks ago I was shopping for groceries, and as usual looking for a way to try to get my husband Rich to eat some fruits and vegetables with out him noticing. This is a game I’ve been playing since we moved in together during my sophomore year of college; he wouldn’t go near any of the fruit I put in our grocery cart, and half of the veggies I cooked were “politely” put to the side of his plate. I have to say at the time it was infuriating, I’ve gotten better since then, but fruit is still more difficult to sneak into dishes then veggies. That’s why when I saw banana’s at half off I scooped them up.

It took a bit longer then I expected for the bananas to turn totally black and squishy; that’s when there the sweetest, but it was definitely worth the wait. The Chocolate Chip Banana Bread is incredibly dense and moist with a rich banana flavor that is highlighted by the taste of the chocolate chips. It definitely eats more like a slice of cake then a bread. I had my slice last night still warm from the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, and a little chocolate syrup. Rich had a slice and even went back for more!

My recipe was adapted one found on SimplyRecipes.com By: Elise

Banana Bread Recipe

Prep Time: 5 Minutes                          Cook Time: 1 Hour

Preheat the oven to 350F

Ingredients

  • 4 ripe bananas, smashed
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup sugar (can easily reduce to 3/4 cup)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cups semi sweet chocolate chips.
With a wooden spoon mash up the bananas, and the melted butter.
Mix in the sugar, beaten egg, and vanilla.
Sprinkle baking soda and salt over mixture, then mix in.
Sprinkle flour across the top, then mix in well.
Mix in the 2/3 cups of chocolate chips.
Pour mixture in a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan.
Bake for 1 hour.
Cool on rack, then remove from pan to slice and serve.




Leave a Reply

