Home » Seasonal » Autumn » Rosh Hashanah Yumminess

Rosh Hashanah Yumminess


It’s been a crazy few days around here, I’ve been baking pretty much none stop to get ready for Rosh Hashanah. It’s one of my favorite holidays and has been since I was a little girl, going to temple with my entire family. Everyone going together made for a wonderful time, especially when my cousin Aaron and I would sneak out of the synagogue and down to the Sunday school class rooms to play. But the best memories of those days are when we would all go back to my grandparents little cape cod style house to have lunch. My aunts would all sit around the kitchen table, talking none stop while my grandmother cooked. I don’t know if I can really describe just how delicious it all smelled, how you could smell the food all the way down the street, the crisp autumn air making it seem even sweeter. The sent of chicken soup with matza balls, stuffed cabbage, brisket, and cake sweetened with honey and apples, these are the smells of my childhood. Even as I remember all of the times our huge family was stuffed into their little house I wouldn’t have wished for anything differnet.

Now I’m the adult and this is my first Rosh Hashana with out my Grandmother. Her children and grandchildren have been scattered all over the country instead of all together in good old Bergen County NJ. Now that she’s gone I find myself fulfilling my Grandmother’s role, cooking and organizing, living just to see everyone with a full belly and a contented smile. In honor of Rosh Hashana and the wonderful cook my Grandmother was I will be uploading some of her recipes through out the day. I hope you enjoy them! Starting with Noodle Kugel.

NOODLE KUGEL Pre-heat oven to 350*
Ingredients:
Two bags of  yolk free wide noodles
One large box of yellow raisins (Dark raisins are OK)
Eight eggs
two sticks of  butter
1 1/2 cups of sugar (after mixing all ingredients, taste for sweetness- the sweetness will be a little less when cooked so it should be sweet= add 1/2 a cup of sugar if needed)
Directions:
Boil the noodles just under the full amount since they will also bake,
drain noodles and return to the pot,
add butter to the noodles and stir well until melted to keep noodles from clumping.
In a large bowl beat the 8 eggs,
add the sugar to the eggs and stir,
pour onto the noodles and stir,
taste for sweetness and add extra sugar if needed,
add raisins and stir
pour into a roasting pan and bake @350 until the top is golden brown, about one hour, cut and serve
Leave a Reply

