Home » Seasonal » Autumn » Grandma’s Roast Chicken Sunday Dinner

Grandma’s Roast Chicken Sunday Dinner


There is nothing like my Grandmothers roast chicken. Just the smell, even now so many years later can bring me right back to my childhood. Where I would sit in her kitchen and watch with awe, as this amazing women cooked, sang, and laughed. She was always singing no matter what she did, it was as though opera music was just bottled up in her waiting to get out.

When I first met the man who is now husband, I asked my Grandmother what I should make him for dinner. I wanted to cook even though the only kitchen available to me was the teeny tiny one in my dorm. It was smaller than most closets. What did she suggest, roast chicken with roasted root vegetables.
Rich of course thought it was delicious and it has become an easy meal that we still eat at least once a week. It’s simple, quick, and absolutely mouth-watering.

Roast Chicken
Set you oven to 375

1. Take a large chicken either whole or cut up and put it into a roasting pan. Using a basting brush coat the outside of the chicken with olive oil. Use between 2-3 tablespoons of oil.

2. Coat the chicken in a mix of salt, pepper, paprika, onion powder, and garlic powder. The chicken should be well coated especially with the paprika.
3. Put into the oven for 60-90 minutes or until the meat is pulling back from the leg bone. The chicken will be falling apart, moist and delicious.

Pan Roasted Carrots and Potatoes
1. Wash and cut 4-6 large red skinned potatoes. Cut the potatoes in half, then cut the potato into cubes. You can also use parsnips, turnips, or onions.

2. Wash and peel 6-10 carrots. Cut carrots so that they are the same size as the cubed potatoes.

3. Put the cut potatoes and carrots into a Pyrex backing dish. Coat with 2 tablespoons olive oil, salt, pepper, paprika, garlic powder, and onion powder.
4. Mix all of the vegetables to spread the seasoning through equally.

5. Put the vegetables into the oven 10 minutes before you add the chicken.

6. Stir the vegetables every 20-30 minutes. The potatoes will be crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, while the carrots will caramelize.

3 thoughts on “Grandma’s Roast Chicken Sunday Dinner

  1. Hi,
    I found your blog by “tag surfing”! I love roasted chicken and enjoyed reading your recipe. I think the paprika is key to the nice color the chicken attains.

    I grew up in the south, and something about a nice big Sunday dinner that all of the family gathers for is very special. More often than not, my husband and I like to roast a whole chicken. From the carcass and drippings, my husband usually makes homemade chicken stock that we freeze. He even made stock from our Thanksgiving turkey last year – and we recently used it in a dish. Really brought back the delicious smell of our Thanksgiving turkey!

    Regards,
    Laura
    http://culinaryspirits.wordpress.com
    http://vintageminx.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Paprika Hand Loomed Organic Turkish Cotton

Leave a Reply

